Review: Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff at Work: Simple Ways to Minimize Stress and Conflict While Bringing Out the Best in Yourself and Others

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff at Work: Simple Ways to Minimize Stress and Conflict While Bringing Out the Best in Yourself and Others
Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff at Work: Simple Ways to Minimize Stress and Conflict While Bringing Out the Best in Yourself and Others by Richard Carlson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is not one of those super-inspiring, revolutionary business books with catchy titles like “Who Moved My Cheese” or “Seven Habits”. This is one of those books that you get into your office early, flip on a low-light source, sip some coffee, and read a few chapters. It’ll inspire you to be a better person throughout the day. At least, that’s how I did it.

I think the author followed the same pattern in writing the book as I did reading it—in slow chunks, bit-by-bit. The chapters bounce from subject to subject, often finding themselves repeating similar subjects. The author gives this away by his own concessions (i.e. “I’m writing this chapter in a plane”, “I’m writing this chapter in my hotel”, etc.). And that’s fine, for a book meant as a daily source of reflection. As a typical business book, the one-hundred chapters could have easily been filtered down and edited into a quicker hitting format.

There’s a ton of sound advice here. A lot of it is from the author’s personal opinion, but he’s right about most of it: be responsive, listen to others, stay positive, move forward, etc. It’s the stuff we know we should be doing, but here are the reminders that are presented in various ways.

Although this is a book about work, most of it can be applied to our everyday life. Everyone can benefit by slowing down, eliminating stress, overcoming procrastination, and all that other stuff that drains us.

I’m giving this four stars because it was helpful to me, but I felt they unnecessarily reached for that hundredth chapter—it could have easily stopped around the two-hundredth page.

View all my reviews

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

