Review: Embrace Your Magnificence: Get Out of Your Own Way and Live a Richer, Fuller, More Abundant Life

Embrace Your Magnificence: Get Out of Your Own Way and Live a Richer, Fuller, More Abundant Life
Embrace Your Magnificence: Get Out of Your Own Way and Live a Richer, Fuller, More Abundant Life by Fabienne Fredrickson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve recently developed panache for reading literature tailored to woman-to-woman advice (Fit Bottomed Girls; Women’s Tapping Solution): I’ve always walked away with learning something to apply in my own life. And, I seem to be on a streak of reading about successful rich women offering their advice on life (Huffington’s THRIVE was particularly good). And here I am to do it again!

My first observation: this needs to be several books. Author Fabienne Fredrickson may not have the acronymic credentials of other authors in this genre, but she definitely has extensive training—and it shows. Many of these heartfelt topics only graze the surface before moving onto the next. Yes, some of the topics show recurring themes, such as caring for yourself, letting yourself be guided, and being mindful, but each of them could have been developed more. Most of this book speaks of great things for you, but I needed (craved) more length in each.

My second observation: Fredrickson makes this book highly personal by revealing much about herself. I’m sure there are moments of vulnerability still unexposed by this book, but overall this book felt personal because of what Fredrickson does reveal. The book started as a letter to her daughter; much of that translates well into advice for every reader that feels personal and heartfelt.

However, this personal approach does present faults, too. For instance, in one chapter about taking care of yourself by doing something better each week, the author speaks of being ashamed at the generic syrup her kids were using, versus the authentic Vermont maple syrup. I understand what she is implying, but moments like this appear as “rich lady” missing the reality and connection of her target audience. This was also my critique of PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS.

My third observation: this book may be too spiritual for some readers. Fredrickson often refers to outside forces for abundance and guidance, including palm readings and references to the law of attraction. My advice: don’t let this intimidate you. Open your mind, listen to what is offered, and maybe try it yourself. You may walk away learning something about yourself that will be life changing.

My fourth observation: I love the quotes! The valuable messages of the writing are good, but the quotes can be life changing in and of themselves. These quotes are what caused me to bump this book from three stars to four.

Finally, I would have liked more references or further readings, mainly because I felt each mini-chapter didn’t explore the presented topics thoroughly enough. Again though, this may be okay for some readers, who are looking for the warmth, heart, and spirit of the letters, versus a deeper study of each subject. For me, I love footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.

Thanks to the folks at Harden, Client Attraction, and Hay House for reaching out to me and sending this book for review.

You can view this book’s preview and other reviews on Amazon: Embrace Your Magnificence: Get Out of Your Own Way and Live a Richer, Fuller, More Abundant Life

Enjoy!

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

