Review: Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence

Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence
Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence by Charles Lominec
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There’s something about elemental power or mystique that always captures my interest. Looking at my book review history, you’ll see I don’t review a ton of fantasy novels, let alone self-published. However, this caught my attention—and for good reason! ELEMENTAL RANCOR by Charles Lominec is a well-polished work of fiction that stands on its own merit. It is top-notch entertainment that’ll beg fans to come back for more.

My first criteria for quality fantasy: world building. Here, Lominec creates a spectacular world. Aside from the elements, there are a great many number of creatures, weapons, and political factions to build upon—a sandbox with plenty of toys. Lominec effectively uses his created objects to pull tension, but more importantly…excitement.

Right away you’ll see warriors riding on blue shark mounts, flying beings with daggers in their talons, tornadoes coming from the water, and giant sea serpents. There’s tons of action and tons of plot to keep this story moving forward.

My main recommendation would to build up the authenticity of relationships; I want to see more feeling. There was a lot going on, but I wasn’t moved by the emotion of the characters. As a smaller nitpick, I would have liked to see more attribution within the dialogue; I often had to remind myself which character was doing the speaking.

Overall, this is an immensely satisfying foray into a new fantasy world. There’s plenty to build upon; future novels in this series should be excitingly anticipated and well received.

Thanks to the author for reaching out to me and sending me an electronic version of his book.

This book currently has a promotion on Amazon, making it free. You can follow the link for this book’s preview and other reviews: Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Review: Elemental Rancor: A Chronicle of Consequence

  1. Pingback: Latest Awesome Review | Elemental Rancor

  2. Pingback: Latest Awesome Review | Lominec Lexicon

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

