CRAP TAXIDERMY and rubber gloves: my dog is terrified.

Crap Taxidermy
Crap Taxidermy by Kat Su
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My dog is terrified of this book. He’s already nervous about getting older, but the arrival of CRAP TAXIDERMY and the movement of me pulling out the rubber gloves did nothing to cure his anxiety. Don’t worry, Buddy, I’m after that mouse in the house.

Thanks to Kat Su’s book, I now have the inspiration AND the know-how to create my own demon-possessed-looking stuffings. If you’ve been to the site Crappy Taxidermy, you’ll get the idea of what to expect: only this time, you’ll have the step-by-step know how. This book doesn’t feature a ton of pictures, but the hundred or so you’ll see will be sufficient before the training begins.

A word of warning: don’t read CRAP TAXIDERMY near bed time. You’ll be terrified. This book culls the best of the site, offering a bit of everything. It is broken into sections, such as animals with googly-eyes and animals merged with other animals. Pictures are labeled with titles and where the grotesque snap was originally taken. Yes, I am judging all Parisians based upon the one picture that shocked me in this book (je plaisante).

And yes, after being freaked out, and perhaps losing your lunch, you’ll be gifted with the blueprints to make your own creation. All you need to do is supply the mouse, forceps, sewing kit, and borax, plus a few more ingredients.

This book is sick, but many people take pleasure in sick. I may be one of them.

Thanks Ten Speed Press for sending this to me for review.

Crap Taxidermy

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

