Review: Living Courageously: You Can Face Anything, Just Do It Afraid

Living Courageously: You Can Face Anything, Just Do It Afraid
Living Courageously: You Can Face Anything, Just Do It Afraid by Joyce Meyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The scripture keeps me coming back. When my mom first introduced me to Joyce Meyer, I dismissed Meyer as a television and large crowd personality. Then I read one of her books—tons and tons of scripture! This is what I enjoy: seeing Bible verses dance back and forth in ways I haven’t thought about before. Meyer nails that.

LIVING COURAGEOUSLY seems to follow the theme of Meyer’s last book, THE APPROVAL FIX; that is: moving forward. In the latter, you learn to move forward with God’s approval, help, and blessings versus seeking the head-nods of your fellow man or woman. Here, Meyer transitions into the realm of fear, a natural God-given emotion that can be used to fuel movement. Meyer teaches us how to embrace the fear to achieve our God-directed passions and goals.

Joyce Meyer’s writing reflects much of the bravery displayed on TV (which is great…especially when writing about fear). Her confidence and charisma hold fast to every page. Make no mistake: though large in character, Meyer’s manner is relatable and personal. She reveals deep, emotional secrets about her life that reveal the fleshly human experience shared among us all.

The combination of scripture (plenty), gusto, and personality is more than enough to carry this book. I usually prefer books with scientific endnotes and journal footnotes, but the break into the spiritual is a nice reward and a welcome combination.

Thanks to FaithWords for providing this book for my review.

You can view the soon-to-be preview and other reviews on Amazon here: Living Courageously: You Can Face Anything, Just Do It Afraid

Enjoy!

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

