Review: Capture the Moment: The Modern Photographer’s Guide to Finding Beauty in Everyday and Family Life

Capture the Moment: The Modern Photographer's Guide to Finding Beauty in Everyday and Family Life
Capture the Moment: The Modern Photographer’s Guide to Finding Beauty in Everyday and Family Life by Sarah Wilkerson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My wife asked, “what’s this?” as she picked up this book and proceeded to flip through it. The book is an eye-catcher. She never flips through my books. From Pulitzer winners to dime store pulp, she leaves them lay. CAPTURE THE MOMENT is a beautiful in every aspect: big, hard cover, gorgeous photos on every page.

This book may not turn you into a professional photographer, but it will inspire your creativity. All the pictures list the camera it was taken with, along with settings, such as aperture and ISO. If you are unfamiliar with what those settings, there is a summary section in the back of the book. More importantly, each photo has brief instruction, which is then proceeded by an end-of-chapter ideas for implementation.


DSC_0810

The other thing this book inspires: to buy a better camera. Realistically, there is only so much you can do with a cell phone camera. There are plenty of ideas here to make your cell phone pictures better, but you’ll be envious of the glossy photos showing dramatic light flourishes and contours of depth in darkness. Trying to get a silhouette in front of the sunset? Nikon has your answer.

I don’t want to diminish the creative inspiration. After reading through this, I was out trying to capture everything from my kids entagled feet to my cat begging for food. And yes, eventually I stopped reading/photo-ing to feed the cat.


DSC_0824~3

Thanks to blogging for books for sending this to me. It’s not my usual foray of reading, but with a new bookish Instagram account and growing kids, I figured I needed help capturing the moment.
View all my reviews

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

