New segment: Want Wednesday

In an effort to be more like the cool kids, I’m introducing a new segment:

WHAT YOU WANT WEDNESDAY

Here’s a chance to call out the books that aren’t here soon enough. The books we want NOW!

Below are two books that I’ve been seeing EV-ERY-WHERE. From Twitter to the Washington Post, from New York to L.A., to London and down to Australia, these books are haunting me. They need to be read. Now.

PURITY
Jonathan Franzen
Farrar, Straus and Giroux

The New York Times calls this book Franzen’s “most fleet-footed…and most intimate novel yet.” On the other side of the coast, the Lost Angeles Times says we need to read this controversial book due to its “fierce writing.”  Even folks here on WordPress are raving about it. BroadartVibe calls PURITY “this summer’s GOLDFINCH.” Yes, comparing it to the Pulitzer-winner. And mycompage says Franzen “writes conversational, enormously intelligent prose.”

FATES AND FURIES
Lauren Groff
Riverhead Books

I think I may need to bury my head in the sand for another month. The publicity is killing me. Riverhead’s Twitter account is posting daily quotes from the book until its release date. The Atlantic even posted a selection from the book–OMG!!!

My friends on Twitter can’t say enough about FATES AND FURIES:

Heck, there’s even freakin’ totes and ribbon-tied beach towels!!!!!!

Kirkus Reviews has it on the cover of their Fall Preview of the “most exciting books coming out this fall.” Here on WordPress, ireadnovels says this “is a literary masterpiece that defies expectation.”

Though not everyone here is a fan. Cleopatra Loves Books says “excessive use of metaphors and links to Greek mythology…for me it was all a little too much.” That actually sounds really good to me!

So those are the two books that I really want, but don’t have…yet. They whet my appetite just looking at them.

How about you? What books are on your Want Wednesday list?

20 thoughts on “New segment: Want Wednesday

  1. Ti

    I was anxious for the new John Irving but I managed to snag an ARC so Avenue of Mysteries will be read by me shortly. What do I want? I put a bunch of books on hold recently but they are mostly older books. I am curious about Carry On by Rainbow Rowell which comes out later this year.

    Reply
  2. bibliosa

    So many wants! I’m going to go with 8th installment of a book series I’m reading called Fever. But, Fates and Furies is one that I’ve been coveting also. It sounds really good!

    Reply
  3. El @ Just Love

    Wow, “Fates and Furies” sounds awesome! And I love that book cover. I’m really excited for “Illuminae” by Kristoff and Kaufman. I actually have an ARC copy, but haven’t had time to read it yet, which makes the WANT even worse!

    Reply
    1. ryandejonghe Post author

      Nice, El! Yeah, the cover is gorgeous!! I’m looking forward to your review of Illuminae. Did I see it on the Man Booker list? If not, I’ve definitely been seeing it all over the place. Looks great.

      Reply
      1. El @ Just Love

        Thanks! No, it wasn’t nominated for anything (yet). I think it’s too experimental for the Man Booker or anything like that (it reminds me a bit of “House of Leaves” or similar novels, where it’s just as much a visual experience as a textual one). But yes, the early reviews have been incredibly positive. Can’t wait to see what you think about “Fates and Furies”!

      2. ryandejonghe Post author

        Oh. House of Leaves, huh? I tried, I really did. But I couldn’t get through it. It didn’t help “alot” was on the first page (I believe from the editor’s note). And then all that sideways and upside down reading. Still, I won’t hold that against this one…I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

  4. A.M.B.

    Great new segment! Fates and Furies sounds really interesting (I love Greek mythology). It sounds like something my sister would like (she’s a classicist turned Latin teacher). I’m always looking for gift ideas for her.

    As for me, I haven’t been paying much attention to the fall releases. I do have a long “wish list,” though!

    Reply
  5. RAIN CITY READS (@RainCityReads)

    I can’t wait for Fates and Furies either! I mean, not that I actually NEED more books to read right now, but honestly I never have enough. One more week until you can get your hands on Purity – and I can’t wait to hear what you think. I’m about 2/3 of the way and I’d say the reviews you quoted are right on the money so far!

    Reply
    1. ryandejonghe Post author

      That’s exciting to hear that the reviews match what you’re reading with Purity. So stoked.

      And, yeah, Fates and Furies will definitely be one to add to the ever growing pile of books. I hear you about not needing more books, but they are sooooo good to have. Ha!

      Reply
    1. ryandejonghe Post author

      Haha, I’m always conflicted on whether to include them or not. I went overboard with my Eileen review, but I just can’t help myself sometimes. Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: From Frozen to Snowden, Jonathan Franzen’s PURITY is a book for our generation—a spectacular display of craftsmanship! | The Avid Reader – Books, Books, Books!

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons to be glad that I’m back from vacation (GIVEAWAY announcement) | The Avid Reader – Books, Books, Books!

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

