TOP TEN TUESDAY: Top ten reasons to do a top ten list…on a Tuesday

I’ve been avoiding top 10 lists like the plague. Why? Because I’m lazy. I thought book reviews could be my bread and butter–and they still are–but there are reasons to do a top 10 list. And here they are:

  1. TO BE LIKE THE OTHER COOL KIDS

Seriously. Everyone on my friends list seems to be doing Top 10 lists. The Bookish Barrister and Caught Read H&nded follow the protocol of what specifically to do each week. They are quite talented and have huge followings. Then folks like Shaina Reads breaks the mold and goes with a Top 10 list of “giving a shit”. So, I’ll start here with my first ever top 10 list.

2. TO DRAW ATTENTION TO MY LATEST BLOG POST

My latest blog post: a book review.

3. TO DRAW ATTENTION TO MY GIVEAWAY

Do you want to win a copy of ARMADA? Sure you do! Click here.

4. HEY LOOK, HERE’S MY INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT

Whoever thought taking pictures of books could be so much fun! There’s a great community of book take-a-picture-ures, too. AKA bookstagramers. Here’s mine.

5. TO ESTABLISH AND FOSTER CREATIVITY

Two things foster creativity: constricted space and a long list of things to come up with. Examples: Twitter and Top Ten lists. By the time you get your brilliantly constructed sentence to fit within 140 characters or struggle to come up with those last two items, your brain will have expanded to twice its size. Or something like that.

6. OH LOOK, I’M ON TWITTER, TOO!

Speaking of Twitter, here I am: @Ryan_Reads

7. TO HAVE SOME FUN

Life isn’t always about pulling out the tissues and reading Man Booker listed books like THE FISHERMEN. Though that’s “fun” in its own right, it’s nice to relax a bit, get connected with the community, and post a bunch of GIF images. Like this one:

8. BECAUSE IT IS DIFFERENT

If you scroll down my blog, you’ll see the constant headline:

REVIEW:
REVIEW:
REVIEW:
REVIEW:

Oh, look, another GIF!!

9. PAGE VIEWS, FOLKS

I’m convinced that people’s eyes cross when they see the onslaught of reviews. Add in a Glee or Homer Simpson GIF and the page counters light up. Well. They increase by one or two. Hopefully more.

10. CONNECT WITH THE COMMUNITY

And that’s one of my biggest goals. Blogging, Tweeting, Bookgramming: it all equals community. I want to share what I’ve read with you, and I want you to share what you’ve read with me. We’ll learn together, grow together, and find great book together.

Group hug time:

How about it? Do you participate in Top Ten Tuesday? Should this be a regular thing?

9 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Top ten reasons to do a top ten list…on a Tuesday

  1. El @ Just Love

    I like the idea of doing lists, although I usually forget to do them, or get sidetracked and come back the next day (and a Top Ten Tuesday just isn’t right if it’s posted on a Wednesday!). But I think they’re fun, and they’re a great way for followers to learn more about the blogger.

    Reply
    1. ryandejonghe Post author

      You can be like the Lego Movie, and do a Tuesday-themed event any day of the week. It’s your blog party and you can post if you want to, post if you want to… Okay, I’ll show myself to the door.

      Reply
  2. Anastasia

    Haha yes! I love TTT because of gifs, that you connect with other great bloggers and also that I find new good books to read that way. I think it’s fun if you have time for TTT but I like to read folks reviews of the books as well

    Reply
  3. Summer @ Xingsings

    Most of the book blogs I followed before I started Xingsings were actually meme free blogs, so I actually didn’t learn about Top Ten Tuesday until I began blogging myself. However, I totally relate to these reasons. Awesome post, Ryan!

    Reply

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

