Indie Thursday: Three book reviews–from cancer to moon colonies

I usually read books from major publishing houses because I feel safe and cozy, but let’s not forget that THE MARTIAN was a self-published book first. Matt Damon says, “hi”:

There’s a ton of authors that work hard to make great books. There’s lots of smaller publishing houses that work equally as hard to make these books known. Every now and then, I’d like to do my part to support them. It’s not much, but it’s a start. So, let’s get the show on the road:

The healthcare system in the United States sucks

MY HEALTHCARE IS KILLING ME by Julie Klein

Every day people in America die waiting to get access to affordable, quality healthcare. In her book MY HEALTHCARE IS KILLING ME, Julie Klein sets out to show the horrific struggles faced by people tangled within the healthcare system. Reading this makes you want to throw something; experiencing it makes you want to punch someone in the face.

“Why on earth would doctors think it’s better to send their patients blindly into a cancer facility rather than just telling them over the phone?” Yeah, I’ve experienced this, too. You get a test done: wait. The doctor’s office calls you and tells you to come in. More waiting. Thus: Xanax and wine.

Klein tells it like it is with humor and sorrow. Let’s face it: the healthcare system in the United States sucks. In journal entry segments throughout the book, she talks about the “caustic demeanor” of doctors’ offices, not having an appointment because the insurance company won’t pay, the lack of plain language, and having to do most of your fighting–paperwork and otherwise–by yourself. “I feel like I am being thrown away because I am no longer effective.”

If you are a healthcare professional, read this book. Let’s make the system better.

This ain’t Stieg Larrson

THE GIRL WITH THE TURTLE TATTOO by Daniel Basil Lyle

When Dr. Lyle reached out to me about his book, I was amused by the title. That dragon tattoo girl is everywhere. I thought he was pitching me a satire. Even the book’s cover amused me. And then I started reading…

We’re a long way from Kansas, Toto. This book isn’t satire and it sure ain’t Steig Larrson. Dr. Lyle has some writing chops! The story–wow!–the story is a far departure from dragon tattoo. Here’s the gist: boy meets girl, boy’s equipment goes nuclear, boy and girl find themselves 125 million years in the future. Think moon colonies and all that.

For being self-published, I’m really impressed at the quality of writing. We’re not talking literary or Pulitzer level, but Lyle can carry a story. For those that like series, there’s plenty more of the turtle tattoo.

Let’s start with the book spine

THE NOTICER’S GUIDE TO LIVING AND LAUGHING by Margery Leveen Sher

Last year I read a book called THE POWER OF NOTICING. The author promised I would gain this power to be able to see things that others could not. It would make me rich and powerful and I could rule the world. Or, something like that. It didn’t happen.

I thought I would have better luck with THE NOTICER’S GUDE. Nope. For starters: the spine of the book is backwards. This is not good for my bookshelf OCD. It’s also not good for a book about…noticing.

The book itself is filled with the author’s quirky ramblings or stories, usually a page-long each. Each story features a picture (sometimes unrelated) with an idea to spark conversation.

If you’re trapped in a room with someone and run out of things to talk about, this book may have some good ideas. Otherwise, I can think of many better uses of your time than this.

How about YOU? What’s the last small-pub or indie book that you’ve read and enjoyed?

5 thoughts on “Indie Thursday: Three book reviews–from cancer to moon colonies

  1. RebeccaV

    Well, it’s been a while since I read “The Seneca Scourge” by blogger/author Carrie Rubin (carrierubin.com), but I thought it was a great read (if you want to see what a medical thriller/sci-fi combo is like). She has another one coming out soon, I think, that I’m looking forward to reading called “Eating Bull.”

    Reply
  2. Allison @ The Book Wheel

    I need to read My Healthcare Is Killing Me. I took a health policy class in graduate school with a former governor who got into hot water for saying that old people need to stop taking half-million dollar treatments away from children who need it more and it was an eye-opening course. We had some great guest speakers who talked about the ACA, primary vs. specialized healthcare providers, and end of life decisions. Did I mention it was fascinating?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Indie Thursday: Battle of the Bulge | Ryan's Book Review

I love comments, so tell me what you think:

